SpaceX calls off tonight’s Crew-7 launch to the space station

About: Roughly four hours before the scheduled launch time, SpaceX announced the cancellation of Friday morning’s launch attempt. The new target for the launch is now set for early Saturday morning.

NASA and SpaceX are preparing to launch four more astronauts to the International Space Station (ISS

The mission was initially planned to commence from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida at 3:50 a.m. ET (12:50 a.m. PT) on Friday morning. However, SpaceX later announced on Thursday that the new tentative launch time was set for 3:27 a.m. ET (12:27 a.m. PT) on Saturday, August 26. An alternative launch window is also accessible on Sunday at 3:04 a.m. ET (12:04 a.m. PT).

The reason behind the delay remains unclear, as SpaceX has merely stated that the adjustment allows for “additional time to complete and discuss analysis.”

Once the mission commences, viewers can expect a live stream of the initial flight phases, captured from multiple cameras. The broadcast will also include real-time audio feeds from Mission Control and the crew capsule.

Within minutes of propelling the capsule into space, viewers will be treated to the captivating sight of the reusable first-stage booster’s return to Earth. While its usual landing spot is a droneship off Florida’s coast, this particular mission will showcase its touchdown at Landing Zone 1 in proximity to the launch site.

For those interested in tuning in to the live stream, here’s all the essential information you need.

Following their arrival at the space station on Saturday, the team of astronauts—comprising NASA’s Jasmin Moghbeli, Andreas Mogensen from the European Space Agency, Satoshi Furukawa of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency, and Roscosmos’ Konstantin Borisov—will engage in a six-month period dedicated to conducting scientific and technological demonstrations with potential benefits for humanity on Earth. Additionally, they will undertake preparations for human exploration beyond the confines of low-Earth orbit.

The Crew Dragon spacecraft, which is integral to the success of the Crew-7 mission, has previously played a pivotal role in NASA’s Crew-3 and Crew-5 missions to and from the International Space Station.

Stay updated on the launch schedule by checking SpaceX’s social media channels for the latest updates.

For insights into daily life on the orbital outpost situated 250 miles above Earth, explore the informative videos created by visiting astronauts throughout the years.

This Post Has 2 Comments

Leave a Reply